This shouldn’t come as a surprise, but among all the features that instant messaging app WhatsApp has to offer, one of them is blocking a contact you no longer wish to talk to.
While there is no sure shot way to find this (apart from the contact telling you this, of course) there are a couple of tell-tale signs that can sort of confirm that indeed you have been blocked. If you are in a situation where you feel that you have been blocked by someone but are not sure try the following steps:
- Look for the contact’s last seen or online in the chat window
This is the first and the easiest way to check if you have been blocked. While just this is no confirmation as the contact may have just changed their “last seen” settings, but it is definitely among one of the indicators.
- Look for updates to the contact’s profile photo
In case you are blocked on WhatsApp, a user’s profile picture will never change to you and you will always see the photo that they put when they were chatting with you. If you can’t see the changes, you may have been blocked.
- Send a message to the contact
Any messages sent to a contact who has blocked you will always show one check mark, which means that the message was sent from your side, but never updated to a double check mark which means the message has been delivered.
- Call the contact
Any attempts to place a call through WhatsApp to the contact who may have blocked you will will not go through.
- Create a WhatsApp group with the contact
Readers must note that all the above attempts can fail by a simple network error as well and therefore cannot be considered an ultimate revelation that you have been blocked, this attempt will clear all doubts you have. Try to make WhatsApp group with the contact you feel has blocked you. If you are greeted by a message saying “you are not authorized to add this contact,” then you have been blocked for sure.